The wheel of the year

A pagan guide to the seasons
September 22, 2019

The Wheel of the Year is a representation of the eight pagan holidays or Wiccan Sabbats. These holidays honor and celebrate the seasons and cycles of life for those who practice paganism or Wicca.

Even those who are not of these spiritual denominations or beliefs recognize these holidays in different ways. It is considered by many to be an earth-based religion.

Humankind has not woven the web of life. We are but one thread within it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves. All things are bound together. All things connect. –
Chief Seattle, Duwamish Native American Indian.

Wicca's temples are flowered-splashed meadows, forest, beaches, and deserts.”
Scott Cunningham, Wicca: A Guide for the Solitary Practitioner.

What Are the Sabbats?

The holidays, or Sabbats, are representations of the start of each season and mid-way points between them. They are split evenly throughout the year.

They are referred to as pagan holidays as they hold roots in the pagan religions of the Celtic and Germanic pagans. Wiccan observe these days as Sabbats. Although the word Sabbat holds roots in Judaism and Hebrew, in reference to the Wiccan religion, it originates from the word Sabbath, which means a meeting or gathering to practice rituals and rites.